I’m Back

Okay, so I can’t make up my mind…or so it may seem. But due to popular demand, Stage Write is back. I’ll try to post a monthly tidbit to help you with your storytelling. In the meantime, feel free to pop over to my new website: http://www.theechoproject.org.

The last couple of weeks I have been knee-deep in trying to develop some new monologue material which I am going to take on the road with Gail McWilliams. I was having difficulty determining the character arc or character growth until I stopped to consider costuming.

This new monologue will be told in three acts. The first act is the setup. The audience needs to get a glimpse of what the character believes is their essence or the only option for them. The next act throws in complications and takes the stakes higher. And the third act is the aftermath or the outcome for this character.

I knew Darla (character’s name) would start out in a ratty bathrobe, certain her dreams will never be met…in fact, she’s so sure she doesn’t even dare to dream any more. The next act she’s dressed as a diner waitress. She believes this uniform defines the limits of who she can be…until conflict is thrown in. In the last act, Darla appears dressed to the nines in a business suit and heels. The audience sees a resilient Darla in the aftermath.

Having trouble moving your story forward. Change your character’s clothes and see what happens.

Happy writing and Merry Christmas.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I’m Back

  1. Julie Marx says:

    HALLEEEELUUUUUJAHHHH!!!

  2. Missy Tippens says:

    Lynn, I’m so glad! I’ve loved your posts.

  3. Janice says:

    So glad you decided to keep your blog open. I love your new character act and believe the concept of changing clothes to show character arch.

  4. Yay! I’m soooo glad you are blogging again. I’ve missed your helpful hints!

    Merry Christmas, sweet friend!

  5. Elida Vidos says:

    Welcome back! Missed you!

Leave a Reply

