Ever wished YOU could REINVENT yourself?

Available for immediate download at http://www.amazon.com

Check out Reinventing Leona, a Tyndale House Publishers Digital First 2011 new release at:  Amazon or Mobipocket.

 

Politicians and actors regularly transform their lives. Embarrassing situations are not career enders for them but rather opportunities to regroup, write a book, and come back even stronger.

Starting over seems simple enough … until the need to start over happens to us.

Why? Because radical change is difficult. We don’t like it when unforeseen circumstances alter our plans. So we’re tempted to take the route of least resistance and live safe, stagnant lives.

But despite all of our precautions, sooner or later something will rock our world. Whether it is the death of a loved one, the divorce of a spouse or the divorce of our parents, the loss of our job, a move, a betrayal, strained family relations, or a major illness … forced course redirections can cause a great deal of pain and suffering.

How we handle these stressful situations is as unique and individual as the characters in our books.

I watched three of my best friends suffer the loss of their husbands. Two of them regrouped, rebuilt, and reinvented their lives. One shriveled up and died in a nursing home. Observing these three different women handle the same situation caused me to ask one of the questions that always sparks a good story: what would I do if tragedy struck me? Do I have the spiritual chops to pick myself up and start over? Could I trust God to lead me through a dark valley?

My debut novel, Reinventing Leona, is a study in the resilience of the human spirit. People do get back on their feet … I’m living proof of that.

I invite you to consider what you’re made of. If you had to reinvent yourself, would you curl up or get up?

Check out Reinventing Leona at Amazon or Mobipocket and let me know how God has used hard times to remake you.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Characterization and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Ever wished YOU could REINVENT yourself?

  1. Julie Garmon says:

    Ohhhhhh, I can’t wait, girlfriend. So looking forward to being re-invented and I have a feeling your debut novel will be changing many of us~~
    xoxo xoxo xoxo

    • Juanita Handshumaker says:

      Lynne, imagine my surprise when I received a postcard today, and brought up the sight and realized that yes, the author Lynne Gentry was “my” Lynne Gentry. I’m so excited to read the book, but I don’t have a Kindle. Is it not in “book” form?!?!? I’m so proud of you. I asked to be your friend on Facebook. We have so much to catch up on. I’ve just got to read this book about reinventing myself. At the end of July, Michele and Daniel will both be moved “away” and we will really, really have an Emptry Nest! Love you. let me hear from you somehow! Juanita Handshumaker

      • lynnegentry says:

        Juanita, don’t you just love technology and the way we can track each other down. It is so good to hear from you. I’m thrilled the post card reached you. I wasn’t sure you were still at that address. Yes, you do have to read this book. It is only available in digital format right now. But if you have a computer, you can download the Kindle app for free and then download the book through the Amazon link on my website. So glad you befriended me on Facebook. We DO have a lot to catch up on. Praying your reinvention goes smoothly.

  2. Beth Goddard says:

    This is going to be great! Can’t wait to read it.

  3. Kim Gilson says:

    I just watched the Skype interview on Facebook! I am loving your book, and I have greater insight after hearing you talk about it. I’m so excited that I want to win the audio! Ok, so we’re supposed to talk about how we’ve reinvented ourselves? Well, I think we all do that whenenver we change from one stage of our lives to another. I’ll put a different spin on that. When we joined Southwind almost 2 years ago, I didn’t realize it would reinvent my relationship with God. Through hearing Lonnie’s messages every Sunday and experiencing it through our church family, I find that I’m letting go of some concepts of God that I think are ingrained in most people from the time they’re kids. I’m finally really buying into the belief that God truly loves us, warts and all, and that we can stop driving ourselves crazy trying to be perfect. This is a different way of thinking for me! I no longer believe that he wants to “zap” me every time I mess up, or that there’s a book in heaven with a list of my sins. I finally “get” that the resurrection isn’t just about saving us when we die, it’s about saving us while we’re alive; saving us from ours sins, our character flaws, and our failures. It means I no longer obsess over what people think about me, and I no longer define myself by my performance. When your inner thoughts stop focusing on your imperfections, and think more about God’s perfections, life gets a whole lot more fun! This frees you up for healther relationships with others, which just compounds the blessings. Am I there yet? Is the journey complete? No way. I still have relapses, but at least I can recognize that’s no longer the norm, and I snap back more quickly.

    I’m so glad to follow Leona through her journey. We all need a trailblazer who can light the way for us. None of us are finished growing or reinventing ourselves. I figure just as soon as the shoes you’re walking through life in get comfortable, a strap will snap and you’ll have to break in a new pair.

Leave a Reply

