It’s Never Too Late to Start Over

Buy Reinventing Leona,
a Tyndale House Publishers Digital First
July 2011 new release at: 
Amazon, Barnes & Noble, CBD, or Mobipocket.
Available for immediate download

July 1, 2011 is a day of new beginnings for me. Today I transition from unpublished writer to published author. While I have been writing for many years and have published magazine articles and short stories, in a lot of ways getting a novel published is like starting over. This pastor’s wife has so much to learn on the published side of this writing business.

Maybe you are in the process of starting over. Perhaps your marriage fell apart or your health took a dive or you lost a job you’ve had for thirty years. You know, then, how it feels to be rockin’ along on your chosen path when suddenly you’re forced to switch gears. I’d love to hear how God used a radical course redirection to reinvent you.

Watch the video then leave your story of starting over in the comment box below.  There’s a prize in it for the story of reinvention that captures my heart.

If you haven’t bought Reinventing Leona, click here: Amazon, Barnes & Noble, CBD, or Mobipocket.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to It’s Never Too Late to Start Over

  1. Lin Harris says:

    Wow, what a delightful interview and marvelous impromptu rendition of a scene from “Reinventing Leona.” Congrats, Lynne, on your new publication. I feel like I’m in the midst of that re-invention experience myself. Retired in August from a government desk job in Austin Texas, I envisioned an opportunity to write full-time; no more lunch hour madness or snatches of moments between loads of weekend laundry. This morning, I sit in Southwest Colorado a 64-year-old rancher’s wife. What I know about hay, horses, and cattle, oh, and bears, cougars, and coyotes, would blow away with a baby’s sneeze. I’m not sure yet if I’m going to curl up or get it. The learning curve is higher and more overwhelming than anything I’ve ever experienced. My 65-year-old husband, also a total ranching novice, is having the time of his life on our 129 acre ranch. No question he’s thriving. While I try to uncurl a bit, how did Leona keep from shriveling?

    • lynnegentry says:

      Linda, thank you for sharing your story. You are in a total make-over, girl. Can’t wait to see what God does with all of those years of faithful service and now the wide open spaces of His creation. Hope this isn’t a spoiler, but Leona took a day at a time…you’ll have to read the book to find out how she fared each day! 🙂 Praying God pops you from the mold and sends you forth a new creation. Pop over to my author facebook page and become a fan. Keep up with the exploits of Leona. I’ll have discussion questions up soon for Book Clubs and maybe even a Mt. Hope Cookbook!!!

  2. Alicia says:

    I’m trying to get reinvented, and still waiting to see how the story will end. Many years of major illnesses and other stressors.
    I’m trusting the Lord; weakling that I am, He is all that is getting me through most of the time.

    • lynnegentry says:

      Alicia, so glad you wrote in. Illness is something we never plan on and it is such a course changer. How it must break God’s heart to see one of his children suffer. Praying God’s strength and comfort flows through you. One thing I know for certain, one day we will all be reinvented. And those reinvented bodies will no longer feel pain. Much love to you, Alicia.

  3. Karen Jordan says:

    Just watched your interview with Lisa Harris, and I look forward to reading your book, Reinventing Leona. [Btw, I’d love to win the audio version of it.] My husband works for our denomination; so, I can really relate to Leona! Plus, God’s been re-inventing me the past few years, too–from a stay-at-home mom to secretary to student to writing instructor, and now as a freelance writer and speaker. And I can SO relate to what you said about having a “real sense of peace when you are accomplishing what you’ve been called to do.” [“Amen” to that!]

    • lynnegentry says:

      Karen, thanks for taking the time to find out about Leona Harper. My heart goes out to you if your husband is in ministry. Tickled to hear how God has been at work in your life. Anxious to see what He does with all of that shaping and molding, aren’t you? I’ll put your name in the drawing to win. Blessings on your continued walk of faith.

  4. Pamela says:

    I am looking forward to reading “Reinventing Leona”. I really enjoyed your interview and especially the message that it’s never too late to reinvent yourself.
    I recently lost my older sister to cancer. She and I were very close. Her death has definitely given me a reason to look at my life and re-evaluate what is important to me. To think about what I want to accomplish during my time here, especially since her dreams were cut short.
    Prior to her death, she had suffered and been bedridden by MS for several years. We spoke every night on the phone. I would share with her the antics of my family and my stories became her window to the world outside her bedroom. Sometimes, however, our conversations turned to writing and story ideas You see, my sister was a writer. She dreamed of someday being published, but sadly illness stole that from her.
    My sister and I shared a lot in common, but writing was definitely her dream not mine — until…
    Before her death I decided to start a blog and found out, much to my surprise, I actually liked writing. As a stay at home, homeschooling mother of three I don’t have alot of creative outlets. My blog gave me that opportunity to create I so desparately needed, but I still never dreamed I’d actually think of myself as a writer … that was my sister, not me.
    Fast forward several months and several blogposts later and I am slowly realizing that writing has become a part of who I am. I can’t imagine not doing it now. Writing is also a way I keep the memory of my sister alive within my heart. And who knows, I just might make the dream come true and someday become a published author. But no matter what happens, I have become something more … I am a writer. And I will be forever grateful to my sister for that.

  5. lynnegentry says:

    Pam, so glad you found my site. Losing someone we love is never easy. My mom was fighting breast cancer while I wrote this book and I felt her slipping away with each passing day. What would I do without her? The hole would be deep I knew. The one good thing about cancer, as compared to a heart attack or tragic accident, it gives you time with the person. One thing that struck me about my mother while I was caring for her was that she had to reinvent herself over and over again. She had polio when she was 8 and had to learn to walk. She wanted to go to med school, but her family didn’t have any money so she learned shorthand and became a court reporter. When technology replaced her, she became a medical transcriptionist. And when she couldn’t type any longer, she became a cheerleader for the family that would miss her terribly. I learned from her the value of putting one foot in front of the other, one day at a time.

    I’m tickled to hear how the Lord is reinventing you. I didn’t set out to be a writer either. But slowly I’ve heard the call. No telling what God will do with your faithfulness.

  6. Marji Laine says:

    I loved REINVENTING LEONA and I’m so glad I found this precious interview. Etta May and Nola Gay sounded just like I expected them to! LOL! I’m embedding this at the end of my blog article that will come out on Tuesday! Blessings!

Leave a Reply

