Writing Journey

Do you have a burning desire to write a novel? What if I told you the writing journey was a tough one? Would you still choose to write?

When I started down the road to publication, I had no idea how many times I would have to start over. I was certain my first novel attempt would give Francine Rivers a run for her money. Did I ever have lots to learn. Two women’s fiction, one medical thriller, a time travel, and several short stories later I still have LOTS to learn.

I’d love to hear your pre-publication story. Hope this video inspires you to never give up on your dreams.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Journey

  1. Lisa Harris says:

    Many years ago, I wrote my first novel about a woman struggling with infertility, something I had recently gone through. I submitted it to Bethany House, and while I didn’t actually think my chances were great, they were the publisher I had decided I wanted. Back then, I kept all of my rejections and as silly as it sounds, I was so proud of the rejection I received from them. They wrote, “There is no question it (my novel) is a worthy publishing project.” (Of course, they went on to add “Unfortunately…”) Those words kept me going for a long, long time.

    Many, many rejections followed through the coming years, and while I went on to discover that the writing journey is tough–very tough–I stuck with it. It’s been almost fourteen years since I received that first rejection, but I’m so thankful that I never gave up.

    I’m still learning, still growing in the craft, but including along with my many rejections is the first of many offers for a contract.

    Tough, yes, but don’t let that stop you from following your dreams!

    • lynnegentry says:

      You know this journey well, friend. The tenacity you’ve exhibited has been a witness to me. Thanks for sharing your writing journey story. The Lord is not finished with you yet!

  2. Carla Gade says:

    Thank you for sharing your story to publication. The message behind your story, the experiences, WOW!

  3. Lynne Gentry says:

    Thanks, Carla. Glad to have you pop in. Would love to hear your writing story.

Leave a Reply

