Beauty Queens May Age, But They Never Really RETIRE their TIARAS

I can’t tell you how excited I was to dust off my old tiaras for the Pulpwood Queen’s Girlfriend Weekend. I have three tiaras … all of them won years ago. (Miss Kansas FFA being the biggest … impressive, right?)

Hairspray is a girl's best friend.

Pulpwood Queens is an annual gathering of the largest literary book club in America …  one big party of famous authors mingling with avid readers.

The jam-packed event included TWO themed costume balls … Pretty in Pink Prom and The Great Big Ball of Hair Circus.

After I squeezed into my daughter’s old prom dress and crammed my feet into some killer heels, I draped a borrowed fox fur around my shoulders and hung borrowed rhinestones on my ears. You’d think that the costume would have made me feel glamorous, but it wasn’t until I set that crown on my head that feelings I hadn’t felt in years hit me. Suddenly, I was a senior in high school – insecure and uncertain of the future, but excited to step out anyway because anything seemed possible.

When you dress your characters, consider giving meaning to a specific piece of the costume. Does the height their boots add more confidence? Does the sparkle of their earring remind them of the lackluster emotions they are feeling? Does a snug belt remind them of how easily things can go beyond their control?

Kellie Gilbert and I met Tina Sloan who played Lillian on Guiding Light

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Costuming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Beauty Queens May Age, But They Never Really RETIRE their TIARAS

  1. Holly Smith says:

    Love it Lynne! For a minute there I thought that was the pic of you from Miss Kansas! Knew you were a beauty and still are! Yes, we never take off the tiaras. Funny princess girls that we are. Thanks for the reminder to make our characters feel special. hugs

  2. Marji Laine says:

    Awesome ideas – again! You are so inspiring!

  3. Lynne Gentry says:

    Thanks for weighing in Holly and Marji. Tell me how you’re going to make your character’s feel something in their costumes.

  4. garmonjulie says:

    Love this post. How fun!!! So glad you and Kel got to go. Just wrote a scene with my protag outside, late October. She forgot her sweater which ties into her fears of the future. Cold. Uncertain. xoxo xoxo xoxo

  5. Lynne Gentry says:

    Bravo, Julie. That’s exactly what I’m talking about.

  6. Julie Marx says:

    Thanks, Lynne. Ever since I started reading your blog, I’ve put more thought into how I dress my main characters.

Leave a Reply

