Wardrobe Malfunction

This year’s Super Bowl halftime show was the costuming extravaganza Madonna promised.

If your eyes weren’t glued to the cadre of muscled gladiators, then you noticed that the 53-year-old pop singer took the stage looking like Cleopatra in a glittery gold robe and an intricate headdress designed by milliner to the stars, Phillip Treacy.

“Great attention to detail has been paid to my wardrobe. There will be no wardrobe malfunction,” Madonna said.

I appreciated how Madonna’s black Givenchy dress with the Roman-inspired overskirt managed to keep her modestly covered, but I think the spiked black boots that nearly sent her toppling down the bleachers might have been a bit overreaching … even for the very fit and agile Material Girl.

Which made me ponder … maybe if I put my heroine in heels that were too high or placed her on a terrain that contradicted her footwear, I could set her up for an unexpected fall? Contradiction and surprise are good for any show.

Madonna, please don’t break out the Easy Spirits. I love being kept on the edge of my seat.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Costuming and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Wardrobe Malfunction

  1. garmonjulie says:

    Love this. Easy Spirits! You have me laughing, as always, my piddling friend.

  2. Marji Laine says:

    Ha! I can’t picture Madonna in sensible shoes! Too funny!

  3. Lynne Gentry says:

    Julie and Marji – I’m not seeing either of you strutting spiked heels! 🙂

  4. Julie Marx says:

    LOL. Great post.
    But seriously, you helped me realize that I can apply my own difficulties with footwear to my characters. (“Face palm,” as my daughter would say.)

Leave a Reply

