Oscar Buzz

I’m so glad Billy Crystal is gearing up to emcee the 2012 Academy Awards. Something about this talented star compels me to sit through the incredibly long and self-glorifying affair. What is it? I call it the Dan Blocker Effect.

When I was a junior in high school, I competed for the coveted title of Miss Cherryvale. I wanted nothing more than to be queen of our small Kansas farm community.

My talent, a rousing rendition of Chim Chim Cher-Ee from Mary Poppins, got me in the top five. But recalling the name of the only star I knew helped me win the tiara.

“Who is your favorite movie star?” One of the judges asked during the interview portion of the pageant.

“Hoss,” popped into my head.

“Hoss Cartwright?” The judges conferred with each other and then one asked, “Don’t you mean Little Joe?”

“No, I mean Hoss.”

“Why Hoss?”

“Because he’s kind.” I said.

I didn’t really know Dan Blocker. But his Hoss character communicated a generous heart and kind spirit with those twinkling eyes and easy smile. Billy Crystal communicates that same Hoss-like warmth, an empathy that endears a character to an audience.

I think the world could use a few more kind characters. Why not write one into your current story? Or better yet, work a little harder to write kindness into your own life?

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Characterization and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Oscar Buzz

  1. Sweet Post.
    I like Hoss too.
    Kind is good.

  2. Lynne Gentry says:

    I knew a western lover like you would “get” Hoss, Patty.

  3. Julie Marx says:

    Hoss. I used to love that show. Too bad they burned the map.
    Cute post 🙂

  4. Julie Garmon says:

    I love this post!!! For sure–we could all use a little more kindness. xoxo

  5. Lynne Gentry says:

    I knew there were some closet Hoss fans out there. Thanks, Julie and Julie.

  6. Marji Laine says:

    I get Hoss, but I preferred Adam – liked his serious nature and dependable decisions. Cute post!

  7. Lynne Gentry says:

    I never said I didn’t think Adam and Little Joe weren’t beautiful! 🙂

Leave a Reply

