Oh, No. Not Davy Jones.

Was saddened to hear the news that my teen heartthrob died. I loved Davy Jones. And although I never met him ā€¦ I was certain he was in love with me.

Amazing how some characters become bigger than life. Ebenezer Scrooge, Anne of Green Gables, Frodo. Davy Jones.

I filmed a girl the other day who was convinced she was Katniss Everdeen of the Hunger Games.

What is it that makes a character larger than life? Zany misadventures, talent, hard times, and a bit of luck.

Photo taken at a Davy Jones/David Cassidy concert I attended with Kellie Gilbert.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Characterization and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Oh, No. Not Davy Jones.

  1. Julie Marx says:

    “Hey Hey were the Monkeys…” I remember watching that show a couple of times.
    Good post. Thanks for the reminder on larger-than-life characters.
    Speaking of Hunger Games, I like the author’s choice of names. Peeta/pita, the baker’s son…

  2. Lynne Gentry says:

    You’re right, Julie. Suzanne Collins did an excellent job picking names for her characters. Katniss (Catnip – make you think of nipping something in the bud). Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Marji Laine says:

    My first crush! (Followed by David Cassidy! Would’ve LOVED that concert!) The news made me so sad, by you’re right. Some characters are just so much bigger to us!

  4. Lynne Gentry says:

    Even Marsha Brady loved Davy! Thanks for feeling my pain, Marji.

  5. I played in bands with Michael Nesmith and Peter Tork back in the early eighties. I never met Davy Jones but from what I heard from Pete and Mike he was a great guy.

  6. Lynne, almost only counts in horseshoes and hand grenades. šŸ™‚

  7. Lynne Gentry says:

    This counts in my book, Patrick! šŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

