Growing Up in Mayberry

I grew up in a small Kansas farming community where everyone knew your name and your business. I guess that’s why I easily related to Andy and the cast of characters in the ANDY GRIFFITH SHOW. Those fine folks on that show made me want to be a better person.

When I learned that the iconic actor who captured the essence of a patient father, faithful friend, and small town sheriff died, it felt like I’d lost a friend.

Thank you for sharing your talents with the world, Andy Griffith.

Wondering about Andy’s path to fame, I poked around on the internet. Interestingly, Andy was an only child raised on the wrong side of the tracks. He discovered he had entertaining talents (music and drama) on a Baptist church stage. A pastor taught Andy to play the trombone and sing. That same pastor told Andy he was good, that he had talent. And Andy believed him, believed his pastor enough to try out for a school production where a teacher saw his potential and encouraged Andy to pursue music … and the rest is showbiz history.

Andy’s journey to stardom made me smile.

Here’s one of my favorites.

I’ve spent years directing church skits, Christmas pageants, and giving private acting lessons. Hundreds of kids have crossed my stage. Did the hours of work make any difference? As far as I know, none of my students are famous … yet. But I pray that when they left Ms. Lynne’s stage, they had more confidence, felt good about themselves, and knew without a doubt that someone believed them to be extremely valuable.

Or maybe this is one of my very favorites?

Here’s a thank you to that pastor and teacher who encouraged Andy Griffith. I wonder if they had any idea that the difference they made in a young boy’s life would eventually bless mine?

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Growing Up in Mayberry

  1. Julie Marx says:

    I always liked Andy. Did not know his background. Amazing story. Thanks for sharing.

  2. Rick Antwine says:

    Awesome!!! When Daniel told me this morning I had a catch in my throat and almost cried. Thank you Lynne for being such an encourager and using your talents to make our world a better place. Your writing soothes my soul.

  3. Julie Garmon says:

    Love how you tied this up so beautifully, Lynne. And you’ve encouraged me and given me more confidence. I can only imagine if I could be one of your real live students! Love you, my friend.

Leave a Reply

