Life of Pi

Loved this book.
Can’t wait for the movie.

I am so excited to learn that 20th Century Fox is making one of my favorite books, LIFE OF PI into a movie. Yann Martel’s adventure is the tale of a young boy cast adrift with a tiger. What an impossible premise. What an incredible, magical reading ride.

Editors are often leary of impossible premises. I had an editor tell me once that the pub board loved one of my stories, but they just couldn’t believe the premise. Funny thing is, I took the story idea from newspaper headlines, it wasn’t even that impossible. Go figure.

Some of the most successful stories out there are created from the combination of impossible premises. For example, my friend and author Leanna Ellis combines Amish and Vampires to create her Plain Fear Series. An impossible fantastical, paranormal premise that sweeps readers into an incredible story.

Check out all of Leann’as books at:
http://www.leannaellis.com

In the new book I’m working, I’m taking a risk. I’m lacing together two unlikely historical events (think Abraham Lincoln Vampire Slayer crazy) to create an even more impossible premise and I’m having so much FUN. Can’t wait for you to read it.

Do you have an impossible story in you? Take a risk and write it. It may just be the next best selling Life of Pi.

Life of Pi Movie Trailer

P.S. Leanna Ellis has generously agreed to give away one copy of her new book Forbidden that comes out Wednesday. Leave a comment for a chance to win.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Life of Pi

  1. Julie Marx says:

    I miss hearing your stories, Lynne. I really want to read the “risky” one.
    And thanks for supporting the risky writer!

  2. Leanna Ellis says:

    Risk takers unite! Thanks, Lynne!

  3. garmonjulie says:

    And how believable is it, really, that the Son of God would be born of a virgin? Seems impossible, doesn’t it. 🙂

    Keep writing risky, Lynne.

  4. Helen M. Gardner says:

    Hi Julie, thanks for giving us readers out there a chance to win Leanna Ellis’s novel. Your novel “Life of Pi” sounds very interesting too. I am just a reader of all different kinds of novels out there, if the plot sounds interesting, then I will try and read them. I have always wanted to write a novel but I never seem to get around to it. Maybe some day I will! Have a great day!

  5. Lynne Gentry says:

    Helen, you’re the winner. If you’ll email your address, Leanna will send you a signed copy of the book. My email is gentry327@gmail.com.

Leave a Reply

