See You at the Top Zig Ziglar

When I learned that Zig Ziglar passed away, it felt like I’d lost one my heroes. I actually never met the cookware salesman turned national motivational speaker. But I did have the privilege of hearing him speak in person.

Several years ago we took our teenage son to a banquet where Zig was the keynoter. Even though Zig was nearly 80 at the time, he spoke without notes and kept us engaged, entertained, and on the edge of our seats. That experience alone was worth the price of the ticket. What I didn’t expect was the added benefit of encouragement his gift of communication gave my son. That evening Zig Ziglar planted seeds of desire into my boy’s heart, a desire to communicate as effectively as possible. After my son finished college and grad school he went on to become one of the finest young pulpit preachers around. I can’t wait to see what God does with my boy’s gifts.

Zig, you were right. We are all designed for accomplishment, engineered for success, and endowed with seeds of greatness. May we find the courage to live these words.

Proud parents and the next Zig Ziglar.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to See You at the Top Zig Ziglar

  1. J.A.Marx says:

    We loved Zig, too. I bet he’s on the speaking team in heaven. Thanks for honoring him, Lynne.

  2. hollywsmith says:

    I agree! What a loss to this world and a gain for heaven. Great picture-unreal how much your son looks like his dad! love, Holly

  3. lynnegentry says:

    Thanks for stopping by, Holly and Julie. I guess this story illustrates how we never know who’s life we may touch. I wish I would have had some way of telling Mr. Ziglar how much his example impacted me and my whole family.

Leave a Reply

