Some of My Best Work

You might think that most of my acting students are extroverts, comfortable on stage and eager to garner the attention of the masses. Truth is, most of the kids I work with are shy, extremely self-conscious, and would rather clean their room than risk vulnerability … and I can spot the terrified the minute I open my studio door.

How? From their body language.

They give me a quick smile then drop their eyes. Their shoulders slump and their arms criss-cross in front of their torso. When I extend my hand in greeting, the color drains from their face.

If you’re not naturally comfortable on stage and your publisher is asking you to build a public speaking platform, don’t despair. Not only can you can learn to communicate confidence, I believe you might even learn to enjoy it. How? With practice and a few stage tricks.

My son was a shy child. Whenever an adult spoke to him, he’d duck his head and hide behind my legs. Where we lived my son’s unwillingness to respond was considered disrespectful behavior. I remember gently lifting his chin, encouraging him to make brief eye contact. With an abundance of praise and practice, he managed a few seconds more each time and sometimes even a smile. Today he preaches for a crowd of about a 1,000. He sent me this video and I thought … this is one confident guy.

I hope seeing this introvert’s comfort on stage encourages you.

Invest in some acting lessons. Sign up and follow SIX MINUTES. Regularly make eye contact with someone you trust. As your comfort level increases, try your new skill out on the grocery checker or the waiter at your table.

About lynnegentry

Wife. Mother. Writer. Acting Coach. Director of Dallas International Performing Arts Academy.
This entry was posted in Be Inspired, Body Language, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Some of My Best Work

  1. Julie Garmon says:

    Love how you put this post together. I’m getting me my own else and practicing! XOXOXO

  2. J.A.Marx says:

    Good stuff, Lynne. And strangely, we have the same little Christmas elf, only he has a green collar. If yours is as ancient as mine…

  3. What fun to see Eric in action! Thanks for sharing him with the world, Lynne!

  4. Learning body language is great for everyone to learn. Whether you need to fine tune your already powerful body language, or learn start from scratch and learn the basics. I enjoyed reading this post! Thank you

Leave a Reply

